July 2015

Once Again, NES Members Run the Rodeo!

NES-Linemen-Rodeo-champs_20For the second year in a row, an NES lineman has brought home a coveted first place trophy from the Tennessee Valley Lineman Rodeo.

Lineman Josh Fuller now has bragging rights as the best journeyman in the Valley from this year’s rodeo held in Sevierville, TN. Josh earned a perfect score in all four individual journeyman events.

In 2014, NES’ Derek Pennington placed first overall out of more than 50 competitors in the lineman apprentice events. Carrying on the tradition, NES lineman Michael Shannon achieved a second place finish this year in the same category.

The Lineman Rodeo allows crews to demonstrate their skills in events that simulate real-life situations. It is designed to promote safety on the job. Speed is important, but accuracy is crucial. The events are judged based on safety, skill and timely event completion.

Congrats to our members who show yet again that unions = quality!

For more pictures and info about this story, visit www.tnrodeo.com or you can take a look at pictures from this year’s rodeo at NES’ Facebook page.

Leave a comment

Local 205 Announces Endorsements for Nashville Metro Council Races!

MetroGovt-sealThe Service Employees International Union (SEIU) Local 205 announces their endorsed candidates for Nashville’s Metro Council elections to be held on August 10, 2015.

The candidates were interviewed and chosen by a committee of rank and file members of our union.  The members of this committee are Davidson County residents who work for Metro Government or for Metro schools.

If there were more than three candidates in a district race, the committee decided to wait until the runoff to give an endorsement.  The committee also decided to wait until the runoff to endorse for the At-Large races.

The endorsed candidates are:

Mayor             Bill Freeman

Vice-Mayor    David Briley

District 5         Sara Martin

District 7         Anthony Davis

District 16       Tony Tenpenny

District 20      Mary Carolyn Roberts

District 21       Ed Kindall

District 23      Mina Johnson

District 24      Kathleen Murphy

District 26      Jeremy Elrod

District 27      Clement Ledbetter

District 28      Tanaka Vercher

District 29      Karen Johnson

District 32      Jacobia Dowell

District 33      Jimmy Gafford

District 34      Steve Butler

District 35      Dave Rosenberg

Early voting is from July 17- August 1.

Election Day will be on August 6th.

Runoff elections are scheduled for Sept. 10.

For complete election information, including early voting and absentee ballots, visit the Davidson County Election Commission’s website or call them at 615-862-8800.


Leave a comment