November 2014

Safety & Efficiency Improvements for Chattanooga City Employees Thanks to Union Activism!

Public Works steward Terry Davis led the effort to get cellphones for on-call employees.

In the wake of the new M.O.U. between Local 205 and the city of Chattanooga, workers are having more of a say on things like policies, payplans, and ensuring that public employees are treated with the dignity, respect, and fairness they deserve. Here are three more recent developments that will help city workers safety and improve efficiency.

  • Moccasin Bend Workers Win Cellphone for On-Call employees. Thanks to the hard work of union steward Terry Davis, public works employees who are on-call do not have to hover over their landlines if they don’t have personal cellphone service. Eligible 0n-call employees are now issued cellphones so they can be reached at any time. This improves efficiency and prevents employees from being written up if their own cellphones or landlines malfunction or if they have a limited personal cellphone plan or bad wireless access.
  • Band-Aid Kits Now Standard Equipment On Public Works Vehicles. It seems like a no-brainer that sanitation workers and other Public Works employees who are in the field and are likely to get cuts and scrapes as part of their daily work would be able to get a Band-Aid kit on their truck so they wouldn’t have to stop what they were doing just to get bandaged up. But for some reason, this is what has been the case for years. SEIU members raised the issue with department administrators and eventually management relented and is now adding Band-Aid kits to all vehicles. This change not only improves safety for employees, it promotes efficiency so that truck crews don’t have to spend work time going back to their worksite just to get a bandage. All other major work rules and procedures related to injury-on-duty are not impacted by this change.
  • Union Forming Safety Committee. SEIU Local 205 has been asked to help develop programs and ideas that could improve safety for Chattanooga city employees. Again, this speaks to a new relationship wherein workers who have “in the trenches” experience have a voice in their working conditions, rather than relying entirely on the limited experience of administrators and bureaucrats. Union members who are interested in being involved in the new Safety Committee are invited to contact their union steward or the SEIU representative for more information.



Leave a comment

Local 205’s “Star Activists” Honored at Dinner in Nashville!

Our "Purple Platinum" activists who attended the 2014 Star Activist Dinner in Nashville.

Our “Purple Platinum” activists who attended the 2014 Star Activist Dinner in Nashville.

The Star Activist program helps our union achieve its goals of activating and mobilizing the membership. The program culminates in an awards dinner each November to recognize our most dedicated members. Star Activists are determined through tracking sign-in sheets and member participation at various union events throughout the year.

We are pleased to announce the slate of 2014 Star Activist members of SEIU Local 205!

SILVER Tier (15 activist points)

John Bell
James Bradley
Lynn Brannon
Ana Brown
James Brown
Julie Burns
Timothy Burns
Kristi Byrge
Fred Carney
Lorenzo Clark
Candy Cox
Maurice Fitten
John Fragans
Maurice Harding
Michelle Hardy
Barbara Hill
Kat Hogan
Timothy Holt
Arlanders Hunter
Forestine Lee
Linda Mabry
Antonio McKissack
Cliffrie Morgan
Nancy Orren
Elaine Owens
Steve Paoletto
Barbie Parman
Ruby Parson
Phyllis Perry
Sam Price
Bridget Radford
Terry Randall
Vanessa Robertson
Lill Russell
Eugene Scruggs
Recco Seay
Marcia Shaw
LaTasha Swanson
Rodney Swanson
Ann Warwick
Donna Watson
Todd Weller
Melissa Wells
John Wier
Jay Wilson
Debra Winston

GOLD Tier (30 points)

Margo Baker
Sondra Bryant
Nat King Cole
Terry Davis
Rosemary Freeman
Francis Garcia
Robert Hart
Robert Ledford
Nancy Nason
Michael Stephens
Alonzo Strickland
Lonnie Winston
Cyndy Workman

PURPLE PLATINUM Tier (50 points)

Pat Baker
Donald Dotson
Kay Golden
Charlie Hall
Aleisha Johnson
Larry Martin
Jeff Massey
Shawn Nevil
Stephen Porter
Sharron Pryor
Brenda Shields
Thomas Slaten
David Walker
Chris Weathers
Stephen West
Mark Witty

Congratulations to all our stars who worked hard to build their union and fight for Tennessee’s working families!

You can see photos from the Star Activist Dinner on Facebook.

Leave a comment